Emeriti

Jeffrey Alexander

Professor Emeritus

Subfield: Social and sociological theory, cultural sociology, politics.

Contact Information

Email: alexande@soc.ucla.edu

Phone: 310-825-1313

Rodolfo Alvarez

Professor Emeritus

Subfield: Organizations: Formal and Complex, Race/Class/Gender, Occupations

Contact Information

Email: alvarez@soc.ucla.edu

Phone: 310-825-1313

Kenneth Bailey

Professor Emeritus

Subfield: Research methods, theory, demography and ecology.

Contact Information

Email: kbailey@soc.ucla.edu

Richard Berk

Professor Emeritus

Contact Information

Email: berk@stat.ucla.edu
Office: 8138 Math Science
Phone: 310-206-9544

Phillip Bonacich

Research Professor Emeritus

Subfield: Mathematical Sociology, Social Psychology, Quantitative Methodology

Contact Information

Email: bonacich@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 106C Haines Hall
Phone: 310-825-3017

Duane Champagne

Professor Emeritus

Subfield: Comparative/Historical Sociology, Cultural Sociology, American Indian and Indigenous Studies

Contact Information

Email: champagn@ucla.edu
Office: 2920 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-825-2606

Robert M. Emerson

Professor Emeritus

Subfield: Ethhnographic Research, Everyday Troubles, Social Control Decision-Making

Contact Information

Email: remerson@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 106C Haines Hall

Oscar Grusky

Professor Emeritus

Subfield: Organizations, social psychology, HIV/AIDS, mental health service systems

Contact Information

Email: grusky@ucla.edu
Office: 4371C Sch. of Public Affairs Bldg.
Phone: 310-825-3232

David Halle

Research Professor Emeritus

Subfield: Cultural Sociology, Economy and Society, Political Sociology, Urban, GIS

Contact Information

Email: dhalle@ucla.edu

Nicky Hart

Professor Emeritus

Subfield: Inequalities in Health; Medical; Gender

Contact Information

Email: nhart@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 106D Haines Hall
Phone: 310-206-6208

John Heritage

Professor Emeritus

Subfield: Language/Social Linguistics, Mass Communication/Public Opinion, Medical Sociology

Contact Information

Email: heritage@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 234A Haines Hall
Phone: 310-206-5216

Jack Katz

Research Professor

Subfield: Social Psychology, Qualitative Methodology, Law and Society, Deviant Behavior/Social Disorganization

Contact Information

Email: jackkatz@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 264 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-825-6904

Barbara Ballis Lal

Professor Emeritus

Subfield: History of Sociology/Social Thought, Race/Ethnic/Minority Relations, Theory

Contact Information

Email: lal@soc.ucla.edu

Phone: 310-825-7989

Ivan Light

Professor Emeritus

Subfield: Economy and Society, Urban Sociology, Immigration, Entrepreneurship

Contact Information

Email: light@soc.ucla.edu
Office: A83 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-825-4229

David Lopez

Professor Emeritus

Subfield: Race/Ethnic/Minority Relations, Development, Theory

Contact Information

Email: dlopez@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 106B Haines Hall
Phone: 310-825-8044

Michael Mann

Distinguished Research Professor

Subfield: Comparative/Historical Sociology, Political Sociology, Theory

Contact Information

Email: mmann@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 106D Haines Hall
Phone: 310-825-1822

Robert Mare

Distinguished Research Professor

Subfield: Stratification/Mobility; Demography; Quantitative Methodology

Contact Information

Email: mare@ucla.edu
Office: 264 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-825-5585

William Mason

Professor Emeritus

Subfield: Demography, Quantitative Methodology, Comparative/Historical Sociology

Contact Information

Email: masonwm@ucla.edu
Office: 264 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-825-1313

Ruth Milkman

Professor Emeritus

Subfield: Gender, Industrial Sociology, Comparative/Historical Sociology

Contact Information

Email: milkman@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 264 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-825-1313

Jeffrey Prager

Research Professor

Subfield: Theory/Psychoanalysis, Race/Ethnic/Minority Relations, Cultural Sociology

Contact Information

Email: jprager@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 257 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-825-3743

Jerome Rabow

Professor Emeritus

Subfield: Social Psychology, Education, Race/Ethnic/Minority Relations, Psychoanalysis

Contact Information

Email: jrabow@soc.ucla.edu

Phone: 310-825-4424

William Roy

Research Professor

Subfield: Comparative/Historical Sociology, Political Sociology, Economy and Society, Sociology of Music

Contact Information

Email: billroy@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 299 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-825-3633

Emanuel Schegloff

Distinguished Professor Emeritus

Subfield: Talk and other conduct in interaction (Conversation Analysis), Theory

Contact Information

Email: scheglof@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 264 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-825-1719

Judith Seltzer

Research Professor

Subfield: Demography; Family; Stratification/Mobility; Life Course

Contact Information

Email: seltzerj@ucla.edu
Office: 212A Haines Hall
Phone: 310-825-5646

Ivan Szelenyi

Professor Emeritus

Subfield: Urban Sociology, Social Inequality, Stratification/Mobility, Theory

Contact Information

Email: iszeleny@ucla.edu

Phone: 310-206-9545

Warren Tenhouten

Research Professor

Subfield: Biosociology, Emotions, Theory, Time

Contact Information

Email: wtenhout@ucla.edu

Phone: 310-825-4527

Donald Treiman

Distinguished Research Professor

Subfield: Stratification/Mobility, Demography, Comparative/Historical Sociology

Contact Information

Email: treimandj@gmail.com
Office: 4284 Public Affairs Bldg
Phone: 310-206-7566

Maurice Zeitlin

Distinguished Research Professor

Subfield: Political Sociology, Political Economy, Sociohistorical Theory and Methods

Contact Information

Email: zeitlin@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 107 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-825-3968

Lynne Zucker

Professor Emeritus

Subfield: Rational Choice, Organizations--Formal/Complex, Science and Technology, Theory

Contact Information

Email: zucker@ucla.edu
Office: 241C Haines Hall
Phone: 310-825-9155