All Faculty

Leisy J. Abrego

Professor

Contact Information

Email: abrego@ucla.edu
Office: 7357 Bunche Hall

Subfield: Social Demography; Migration; Sexual and Reproductive Health and Behavior; Family; Religion

Contact Information

Email: agadjanian@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 206 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-267-4943

Jeffrey Alexander

Professor Emeritus

Subfield: Social and sociological theory, cultural sociology, politics.

Contact Information

Email: alexande@soc.ucla.edu

Phone: 310-825-1313

Walter Allen

Distinguished Professor of Education, Sociology, and African American Studies

Subfield: Higher Education, sociology of education, comparative race and ethnicity ; social inequality; comparative family studies.

Contact Information

Email: wallen@ucla.edu
Office: Moore Hall 3101A-1
Phone: 310-206-7107

Rodolfo Alvarez

Professor Emeritus

Subfield: Organizations: Formal and Complex, Race/Class/Gender, Occupations

Contact Information

Email: alvarez@soc.ucla.edu

Phone: 310-825-1313

Subfield: Sociology of Education, Sociology of Work, Social Mobility, Social Entrepreneurship, Social Inequities, Social Research Methods

Contact Information

Email: randalon@ucla.edu
Office: UCLA Haines Hall 213
Phone: 310-825-0837

Ronald Andersen

Wasserman Professor Emeritus

Subfield: Health Services Research, Medical Sociology, Evaluation and Policy Research

Contact Information

Email: randerse@ucla.edu
Office: CHS 61 293
Phone: 310-206-1810

Francis (Perry) Anderson

Professor Emeritus

Subfield: Europe

Contact Information


Office: 6265 Bunche Hall
Phone: 310-825-4601

Terri Anderson

Continuing Lecturer

Subfield: Hip, Cool, & the Hipster; Sociology of Emotions; Sociology of Mental Illness; Pranks & Troublemaking; Art, Entertainment & Social Change; Animals & Society; Sociology of Gender; Environmental Sociology; Social Psychology; Self & Society

Contact Information

Email: Terri.Anderson@ucla.edu
Office: 211 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-749-4421

Amanda Armenta

Associate Professor

Subfield: Migration, Law and Society, Race and Ethnicity, Qualitative Methods

Contact Information

Email: armenta@luskin.ucla.edu
Office: 5355 Public Affairs

César J. Ayala

Professor

Subfield: Comparative/Historical Sociology, Economic Sociology, Race and Ethnicity in the Caribbean and Latin America

Contact Information

Email: cjayala@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 245 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-267-4306

Kenneth Bailey

Professor Emeritus

Subfield: Research methods, theory, demography and ecology.

Contact Information

Email: kbailey@soc.ucla.edu

Hiram Beltran-Sanchez

Associate Professor

Subfield: Public Health, Social epidemiology, Latin America, Formal Demography

Contact Information

Email: beltrans@ucla.edu
Office: 41-257A CHS

Zsuzsa Berend

Academic Administrator

Subfield: Economic sociology, assisted reproduction, surrogacy

Contact Information

Email: berend@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 293 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-825-7672

Richard Berk

Professor Emeritus

Contact Information

Email: berk@stat.ucla.edu
Office: 8138 Math Science
Phone: 310-206-9544

Phillip Bonacich

Research Professor Emeritus

Subfield: Mathematical Sociology, Social Psychology, Quantitative Methodology

Contact Information

Email: bonacich@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 106C Haines Hall
Phone: 310-825-3017

Philippe Bourgois

Distinguished Professor-in-Residence

Subfield: Social inequality, violence, substance abuse, incarceration, ethnic segregation and conflict, urban anthropology, HIV, homelessness, US inner-city, Central America and the Caribbean

Contact Information

Email: bourgois@ucla.edu
Office: B7-435 Semel Institute
Phone: 310-267-4267

Jennie E. Brand

Professor

Subfield: Stratification/Mobility; Social Demography; Education; Jobs/Careers; Disruptive Events; Statistics and Quantitative Methods;

Contact Information

Email: brand@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 228 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-266-0826

Rogers Brubaker

Distinguished Professor

Subfield: Comparative/Historical Sociology, Theory, Nationalism

Contact Information

Email: brubaker@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 232 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-825-1129

Duane Champagne

Professor Emeritus

Subfield: Comparative/Historical Sociology, Cultural Sociology, American Indian and Indigenous Studies

Contact Information

Email: champagn@ucla.edu
Office: 2920 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-825-2606

Steven Clayman

Professor

Subfield: Language/Social Linguistics, Mass Communication/Public Opinion, Ethnomethodology

Contact Information

Email: clayman@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 231 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-825-2090

Jessica L. Collett

Professor & Vice Chair

Subfield: Social Psychology, Gender and Family, Emotions, Social Inequality, Religion

Contact Information

Email: collett@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 292 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-267-4957

Robert M. Emerson

Professor Emeritus

Subfield: Ethhnographic Research, Everyday Troubles, Social Control Decision-Making

Contact Information

Email: remerson@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 106C Haines Hall

Subfield: Historical and Comparative Sociology, Social Change, Sociology of Knowledge, Economic Sociology, Cultural Sociology, Theory, Historical Demography, Quantitative and Qualitative Methodology

Contact Information

Email: emigh@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 252A Haines Hall
Phone: 310-206-9546

Jason L. Ferguson

Assistant Professor

Contact Information

Email: jlferg@soc.ucla.edu