Joint Faculty

Leisy J. Abrego

Professor

Contact Information

Email: abrego@ucla.edu
Office: 7357 Bunche Hall

Walter Allen

Distinguished Professor of Education, Sociology, and African American Studies

Subfield: Higher Education, sociology of education, comparative race and ethnicity ; social inequality; comparative family studies.

Contact Information

Email: wallen@ucla.edu
Office: Moore Hall 3101A-1
Phone: 310-206-7107

Ronald Andersen

Wasserman Professor Emeritus

Subfield: Health Services Research, Medical Sociology, Evaluation and Policy Research

Contact Information

Email: randerse@ucla.edu
Office: CHS 61 293
Phone: 310-206-1810

Francis (Perry) Anderson

Professor Emeritus

Subfield: Europe

Contact Information


Office: 6265 Bunche Hall
Phone: 310-825-4601

Amanda Armenta

Associate Professor

Subfield: Migration, Law and Society, Race and Ethnicity, Qualitative Methods

Contact Information

Email: armenta@luskin.ucla.edu
Office: 5355 Public Affairs

Hiram Beltran-Sanchez

Associate Professor

Subfield: Public Health, Social epidemiology, Latin America, Formal Demography

Contact Information

Email: beltrans@ucla.edu
Office: 41-257A CHS

Philippe Bourgois

Distinguished Professor-in-Residence

Subfield: Social inequality, violence, substance abuse, incarceration, ethnic segregation and conflict, urban anthropology, HIV, homelessness, US inner-city, Central America and the Caribbean

Contact Information

Email: bourgois@ucla.edu
Office: B7-435 Semel Institute
Phone: 310-267-4267

Michael Goldstein

Professor Emeritus

Subfield: Medical sociology, alternative medicine, professions.

Contact Information

Email: msgoldst@ucla.edu
Office: 21-261 CHS
Phone: 55116

Laura E Gómez

Professor

Subfield: Latinas/os; Chicana/o studies; sociology of law; historical sociology; critical race theory.

Contact Information

Email: gomez@law.ucla.edu
Office: Law School 3218
Phone: 310-267-4964

Jasmine D. Hill

Assistant Professor

Subfield: race, inequality, labor market, family

Contact Information

Email: jhill@luskin.ucla.edu
Office: 6359 Public Affairs

Zeynep K. Korkman

Assistant Professor

Subfield: transnational feminisms; cultural politics; gender, labor, and affect; and religion, secularism, and the public sphere, with a regional focus on Turkey and the larger Middle East

Contact Information

Email: korkman@g.ucla.edu
Office: 1120 Rolfe Hall
Phone: (310)206-8101

Elizabeth C. Koslov

Assistant Professor

Subfield: Environmental Sociology, Climate Change, Environmental Justice, Urban Sociology, Ethnography, Cultural Studies, Media Studies, Qualitative Methods

Contact Information

Email: koslov@ucla.edu
Office: 5375 Public Affairs Bldg
Phone: (310)206-7150

Natalie Masuoka

Associate Professor

Contact Information

Email: nmasuoka@ucla.edu
Office: 3244 Bunche Hall
Phone: (310)825-4331

Aaron Panofsky

Associate Professor

Subfield: History, Information Technology, Politics, Race and Ethnicity, Social Movements/Labor Unions

Contact Information

Email: apanofsky@ucla.edu
Office: 6355 Public Affairs
Phone: 310-825-0462

Anne Pebley

Professor

Contact Information

Email: pebley@ucla.edu
Office: 41-257 CHS 4284B PAB
Phone: 310-825-5308

Meredith Phillips

Associate Professor

Contact Information

Email: meredith.phillips@ucla.edu
Office: 6323 PPB
Phone: 310-794-5475

Olav Sorenson

Professor

Subfield: Organizations, Networks, Economic Sociology, Science and Technology

Contact Information

Email: olav.sorenson@anderson.ucla.edu
Office: F-403A Mullin Management Commons, Anderson
Phone: (310)267-4182

Katherine Stone

Professor Emeritus

Subfield: Professor Katherine Stone is a leading expert in labor and employment law in the United States. She was awarded a Guggenheim Fellowship Award in 2008 and a Russell Sage Fellowship for 2008-2009 for her work on the changing nature of employment and the regulatory implications. Her recent book, Rethinking Workplace Regulation: Beyond the Standard Contract Of Employment (Katherine V.W. Stone and Harry Arthurs) (Russell Sage Foundation, 2013) described changes in employment laws to address the changing nature of employment in ten industrial countries.

Contact Information

Email: stone@law.ucla.edu
Office: 405 Hilgard Ave
Phone: 58202

Sherod Thaxton

Professor

Subfield: Criminology/Delinquency; Sociology of Law; Statistics and Quantitative Methods

Contact Information

Email: thaxton@law.ucla.edu
Office: Law 3435
Phone: 310-794-8663

Subfield: Subfield: Labor sociology, Social movements, Economic sociology, Organizations, Political sociology

Contact Information

Email: tilly@ucla.edu
Office: 3250 Public Affairs Bldg.
Phone: 310-206-7150

Alden Young

Associate Professor

Contact Information

Email: aldenyoung@g.ucla.edu
Office: 1308 Rolfe Hall
Phone: (310)825-3776

Chris Zepeda-Millan

Associate Professor

Subfield: Social Movements, Immigration, Latinx Politics, Labor

Contact Information

Email: czm@ucla.edu
Office: 6383 Public Affairs Bldg