Core Faculty

Subfield: Social Demography; Migration; Sexual and Reproductive Health and Behavior; Family; Religion

Contact Information

Email: agadjanian@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 206 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-267-4943

César J. Ayala

Professor

Subfield: Comparative/Historical Sociology, Economic Sociology, Race and Ethnicity in the Caribbean and Latin America

Contact Information

Email: cjayala@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 245 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-267-4306

Jennie E. Brand

Professor

Subfield: Stratification/Mobility; Social Demography; Education; Jobs/Careers; Disruptive Events; Statistics and Quantitative Methods;

Contact Information

Email: brand@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 228 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-266-0826

Rogers Brubaker

Distinguished Professor

Subfield: Comparative/Historical Sociology, Theory, Nationalism

Contact Information

Email: brubaker@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 232 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-825-1129

Steven Clayman

Professor

Subfield: Language/Social Linguistics, Mass Communication/Public Opinion, Ethnomethodology

Contact Information

Email: clayman@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 231 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-825-2090

Jessica L. Collett

Professor & Vice Chair

Subfield: Social Psychology, Gender and Family, Emotions, Social Inequality, Religion

Contact Information

Email: collett@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 292 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-267-4957

Subfield: Historical and Comparative Sociology, Social Change, Sociology of Knowledge, Economic Sociology, Cultural Sociology, Theory, Historical Demography, Quantitative and Qualitative Methodology

Contact Information

Email: emigh@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 252A Haines Hall
Phone: 310-206-9546

Jason L. Ferguson

Assistant Professor

Contact Information

Email: jlferg@soc.ucla.edu

Jacob Foster

Associate Professor

Subfield: Science and Technology, Theory, Computational Social Science, Networks, Complex Systems, Cognition and Culture, Machine Learning, Cultural Evolution, Game Theory

Contact Information

Email: foster@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 204 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-825-1031

S. Michael Gaddis

Associate Professor

Subfield: inequality, race and ethnicity, education, mental health, discrimination, experiments

Contact Information

Email: mgaddis@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 285 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-206-6362

Jeffrey Guhin

Assistant Professor

Subfield: Religion, Education, Theory, Culture, Islam, Ethnography, Qualitative Methods

Contact Information

Email: guhin@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 296 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-206-8660

Kevan Harris

Associate Professor

Subfield: Historical Sociology, Welfare States, Sociology of West Asia and North Africa

Contact Information

Email: kevanharris@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 284 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-206-1247

Subfield: International Migration, Borders, Race and Ethnicity, Labor, Economic Sociology, Qualitative Methodology, Mexico, Latin America

Contact Information

Email: rubenhl@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 247A Haines Hall
Phone: 310-825-3059

Chris Herring

Assistant Professor

Subfield: Urban Sociology, Poverty, Housing and Homelessness, Criminal Justice, Welfare, Ethnography, Community Action Research, Social Policy.

Contact Information

Email: cherring@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 237 Haines Hall

Subfield: Children and the Family, Cambodia, Formal Demography

Contact Information

Email: heuveline@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 214 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-825-6380

Darnell Hunt

Professor and Executive Vice Chancellor - Provost

Subfield: Race, Media, and Cultural Studies

Contact Information

Email: dhunt@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 255 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-267-4304

Marcus Anthony Hunter

Professor, Scott Waugh Endowed Chair in the Division of the Social Sciences

Subfield: Urban Sociology; Sexuality; Culture; Race, Class, and Gender; Racial and Ethnic Relations; Social Theory; Historical Sociology; Qualitative Methods; Critical Race Theory

Contact Information

Email: hunter@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 266 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-825-7865

Gail Kligman

Distinguished Professor

Subfield: Comparative/Historical Sociology, Political Sociology, Ethnography, Gender, Socialism and Postsocialism, Trafficking and Migration

Contact Information

Email: kligman@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 251A Haines Hall
Phone: 310-206-7277

Subfield: Science and technology studies, sociology and history of the life and biomedical sciences.

Contact Information

Email: landecker@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 268 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-825-1517

Ching Kwan Lee

Professor

Subfield: Labor, Development, Political Sociology, Global and Comparative Ethnography, Hong Kong, Taiwan, China and Africa

Contact Information

Email: cklee@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 270 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-206-2691

Ka-Yuet Liu

Associate Professor

Subfield: Social Networks; Social Epidemiology; Geographical Information System/Spatial Analysis; Medical Sociology; Micro-Macro Problems; Suicide; Autism; Agent-based Models

Contact Information

Email: ka@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 272 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-267-4967

Omar Lizardo

Professor and LeRoy Neiman Term Chair

Subfield: Culture, Networks, Cognition, Consumption, Social Theory

Contact Information

Email: olizardo@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 290 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-267-5438

Aliza Luft

Assistant Professor

Contact Information

Email: aluft@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 291 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-206-2724

Cecilia Menjívar

Professor and Dorothy L. Meier Social Equities Chair

Subfield: Subfield: International migration, immigrant families, immigration law, gender violence, state violence, Latin America, Central America

Contact Information

Email: menjivar@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 218 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-267-4928

Vilma Ortiz

Professor

Subfield: Latina/o Sociology, Race/Ethnic/Minority Relations, Sex and Gender

Contact Information

Email: vilma@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 241B Haines Hall
Phone: 310-206-5218

Natasha Quadlin

Associate Professor

Subfield: Social Inequality, Sex & Gender, Sociology of Education, Higher Education, Sociology of Family, Quantitative & Experimental Methods

Contact Information

Email: quadlin@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 299 Haines Hall

Giovanni Rossi

Assistant Professor

Subfield: Conversation analysis, language, gesture, comparative study of social interaction

Contact Information

Email: rossi@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 297 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-267-4832

Gabriel Rossman

Professor

Subfield: Economic sociology

Contact Information

Email: rossman@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 287 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-206-8904

Abigail Saguy

Professor & Chair

Subfield: Gender, culture, law, politics, comparative sociology

Contact Information

Email: saguy@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 102 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-794-4979

Desi Small-Rodriguez

Assistant Professor

Subfield: Social Demography; Race and Ethnicity, Indigeneity; Sociology of Knowledge; Technology and Society; Stratification; Critical Quantitative Methods.

Contact Information

Email: desisr@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 244 Haines Hall

Tanya Stivers

Professor

Subfield: Conversation Analysis, Medical Sociology

Contact Information

Email: stivers@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 244 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-825-3840

Megan Sweeney

Professor

Subfield: Family, Demography, Reproductive Health, Social Stratification

Contact Information

Email: msweeney@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 202 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-206-7290

Subfield: Ethnography, sociology of health and illness, science and technology, the body, death and dying.

Contact Information

Email: stefan@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 216 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-206-6526

Subfield: International migration, race and ethnicity, stratification/mobility, health and social context

Contact Information

Email: avilla@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 237 Haines Hall

Roger Waldinger

Distinguished Professor

Subfield: International migration; race and ethnicity

Contact Information

Email: waldinger@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 253A Haines Hall
Phone: 310-206-9233

Edward Walker

Professor

Subfield: Political Sociology, Social Movements, Organizations, the Nonprofit Sector

Contact Information

Email: walker@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 235 Haines Hall
Phone: 310-206-2918

Wei-hsin Yu

Professor & Vice Chair

Subfield: Gender inequality, Social Stratification, Marriage and Family, Social Change, East Asia

Contact Information

Email: whyu@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 257 Haines Hall

Min Zhou

Distinguished Professor

Subfield: Migration and Development; Race and Ethnicity; Asian America; Chinese Diaspora; Urban Sociology

Contact Information

Email: mzhou@soc.ucla.edu
Office: 234A Haines Hall
Phone: 310-825-3532