Recent Ph.D's
  • Karina Chavarria

    Subfield: Subfields: Education, Immigration, Race and Ethnicity, Ethnography

    Contact Information

    Email    chavarriaucla@gmail.com
    Office  Haines 109
  • Aaron Crawford

    Subfield: Race & Ethnicity, Education, Ethnography

    Contact Information

    Email    aaron12@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Saskia Nauenberg Dunkell

    Subfield: Transitional justice, truth commissions, human rights, comparative-historical sociology, political sociology, sociology of organizations, globalization.

    Contact Information

    Email    saskian@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Ashley Gromis

    Subfield: Quantitative Methods, Computational Sociology, Networks and Health, Eviction, Economic Sociology

    Contact Information

    Email    ashley.gromis@gmail.com
    Office 
  • Susila Gurusami

    Subfield: Carceral Studies, Race, Class, and Gender, Urban Studies, Qualitative Methods, Reproductive Politics, Medical Sociology

    Contact Information

    Email    susila.gurusami@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Nicole Iturriaga

    Subfield: Social Movements, Political Violence and State Terror, Collective Memory, Gender, Human Rights, Science and Technology, Culture, and the Politics of Reproduction. 

    Contact Information

    Email    n.iturriaga@ucla.edu
    Office  Haines 109
  • Molly S. Jacobs

    Subfield: Social Movements, Organizations, Social Psychology, Comparative-Historical Sociology, Ethnography

    Contact Information

    Email    msjacobs13@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Lisa Kietzer

    Subfield: Conversation Analysis, Sociology of the Family, Medical Sociology

    Contact Information

    Email    lkietzer@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Rahim Kurwa

    Subfield: Race, Segregation, Federal Housing Policy, Urban Sociology

    Contact Information

    Email    rahim.kurwa@gmail.com
    Office 
  • Annie Chihei Lee

    Subfield: Social Stratification, Social Demography, Race & Ethnicity, and Education

    Contact Information

    Email    anniecl@ucla.edu
    Office  Haines 228
  • Ravaris L. Moore

    Subfield:  Social Stratification, Education, Social Demography, Quantitative Methods

    Contact Information

    Email    ravarism@g.ucla.edu
    Office  Haines 228
  • Christopher Rea

    Subfield: Environmental sociology, economic sociology, political sociology, organizations, social movements, science and technology, health politics and policy.

    Contact Information

    Email    christophermrea@gmail.com
    Office 
  • William Estuardo Rosales

    Subfield: International Migration, Race and Ethnic Relations, Immigration Enforcement, Civil Society, and Law and Society

    Contact Information

    Email    werosales@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Tahseen Shams

    Subfield: Globalization, Transnationalism, International Migration, Race and Ethnicity, Nationalism, Religion, Gender, Qualitative Methods, Muslim Americans, Asian Americans, South Asia

    Contact Information

    Email    tshams@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Michael Siciliano

    My dissertation focuses on issues of control, worker experience, and technology among creative workers in an owner-managed firm and a subsidiary of a global firm within the U.S. culture industry. This includes workers in networked occupations that exist outside the boundaries of the firms (audio engineers or producers, YouTube content "creators") and workers in standard employment within the firms (clerical and service staff, analytics workers).

    Subfield: Organizations and work, cultural sociology, science and technology studies, qualitative methods, aesthetics, labor process theory

    Contact Information

    Email    msiciliano@ucla.edu
    Office  Haines 235
  • Phi Hong Su

    Contact Information

    Email    phihongsu@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Alexandra Tate

    Subfield: Medical Sociology, Death & Dying, Qualitative Methods, Health Systems, Oncology, Health Inequality, Palliative Medicine, Ethnography, Conversation Analysis, Aging, Mental Health

    Contact Information

    Email    atate@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu
    Office 
  • Irene I. Vega

    Irene I. Vega's dissertation examines how state laws and bureaucratic discretion shape the implementation of federal immigration law.

    Subfield: International Migration, Law and Society, Race/Ethnicity, Educational Inequality

    Contact Information

    Email    irenevega@ucla.edu
    Office  Haines 103
  • Christine (Nan) Wang

    My present work concentrates on the applied research field of Medical Sociology. Specifically, I have been interested in seeing how large-scale healthcare problems can be shaped by small-scale interactive behavior in social encounters.

    Subfield: conversation understanding, interactive language understanding, behavior modeling in social interactions.

    Contact Information

    Email    nwang3@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Anne White

    Subfield: Conversation Analysis, Ethnography, Medical Sociology, Rural Sociology, Sociology of Time

    Contact Information

    Email    aecwhite@gmail.com
    Office  Haines 234
  • Eli Wilson

    Subfield: work, international migration, culture, urban studies, ethnography

    Contact Information

    Email    elihapa@gmail.com
    Office 
  • Terrell Winder

    Subfield: Quantitative & Qualitative Methods, Race & Ethnicity, Education, Gender & Sexuality

    Contact Information

    Email    tjwinder@ucla.edu
    Office 
  • Amy Zhou

    Subfield: Medical Sociology, Global & Transnational Sociology, Inequality, Race & Ethnicity, Ethnography

    Contact Information

    Email    amyzhou@g.ucla.edu
    Office  Haines 111